St Columba’s is part of the Catholic Diocese of Shrewsbury, Registered Charity No 234025.

St Columba's ChurchSt Columba’s is part of the ‘Local Pastoral Area’ (LPA 11) for Chester and District. This includes the parishes of St Clare (Lache), St Cuthbert (Mouldsworth), St Francis (City Centre), St Thomas Becket (Tarporley), St Theresa (Blacon) and St Werburgh (City Centre).

The church was established in 1965 to serve the people of North East Chester and its surrounding districts.

Our Parish Priest is Fr. Jonathan Brandon, appointed to the parish with effect from 7th February 2016. Bishop Mark has given Fr. Jonathan the role of bringing together the parishes of St Columba and St Theresa (Blacon), the two parishes eventually to be served by one priest. Bishop Mark has appointed Fr. Isidore Madueke to assist Fr. Jonathan with this transition, and he is resident at St Theresa’s.

Our Parish Primary School is St Werburgh’s & St Columba’s (shared with St Werburgh’s Parish). Many of our older pupils attend Chester Catholic High School.

  • Click here for a brief-history (PDF format) of St Columba’s, prepared in connection with our church’s participation in the Heritage Open Days programme organised by Chester Civic Trust in 2010.

  • Click here for the PDF version of the booklet produced in 1990 to mark the Silver Jubilee of the founding of the parish: St Columba history   It provides lots of information about many of the personalities involved with the development of the parish.
  • Go to www.taking-stock.org.uk for a developing database of information about the architectural and historic characteristics of every Catholic church and chapel across the dioceses of England and Wales. It is a project part-funded by English Heritage. St Columba’s has an entry in this database – run a search for st columba chester